Change to jury – NKH Long Work category

We regretfully announce that one of our esteemed jurors, Stephanie Lai, has had to step down from the Long Work panel for 2019. We wish to thank Stephanie for her service in the 2018 and 2019 awards, and for her contributions to the direction of the Norma K Hemming Award during her time on the panel.

Fortunately, we have been able to fill the role for 2019 with another well-qualified person, and welcome Lyss Wickramasinghe to the team. Lyss is a freelance editor and avid reader of all things spec fic, specialising in world-building and character dynamics. As a bisexual woman of colour, she has a deep personal interest in the growing diversity of the sci-fi and fantasy genres.

We appreciate Lyss stepping in at very late notice, and look forward to working with her this year.

More information about our judging panels can be found here. A reminder that entries for the Award close on January 31, 2019, for all eligible and relevant Australian speculative work published in 2018.

2018 Norma K Hemming Award Jury Announced

The Norma K Hemming Award, under the auspices of the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF), announces the 2018 jury.

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF) is pleased to endorse the 2018 jury (judging works published in 2016-2017) for the Norma K Hemming Award. With a significant restructure taking place this year, applications for the panel were invited by a public expression of interest process. ASFF would like to acknowledge and thank the previous jurors of the award for their time and expertise during the first seven years of operation of the Norma K Hemming Award.

The members of the Norma K Hemming Award jury for 2018 are as follows:

Stephanie Gunn is a Ditmar and Aurealis award nominated author of speculative fiction. In another life, she was trained as a scientist, but the development of chronic illness forced her to choose another path, and she now focuses her energy on writing and reviewing. She has served as both judge and panel convenor for the Aurealis Awards over a variety of categories, and has previously judged the Australian Shadows Awards. She lives in Perth with her family and far too many books, and can be found online at

Stephanie Lai has an extensive knowledge of and interest in speculative fiction. She has been a wide reader of speculative fiction, with specific interest in speculative fiction written by non-white authors, and authors from non-western cultural backgrounds. This reading has been done both within and without Australia. She has in particular read extensively across Australian, South-East Asian, and South Asian speculative fiction, including writers from the diaspora.

Russell Kirkpatrick is originally from New Zealand but now lives in Canberra, Australia. He has written two fantasy trilogies, published by HarperCollins in Australasia and Orbit in the UK and US markets, and is a three-time Julius Vogel award winner. His debut novel, Across The Face Of The World, was the biggest-selling debut fantasy novel in the USA in 2008. Until 2014 he was a part-time lecturer in Geography at the University of Waikato and has had a number of non-fiction titles published, including the New Zealand Historical Atlas (winner of the Montana People’s Choice award in 1998) and Contemporary Atlas New Zealand (Montana awards finalist). His latest non-fiction project, Walks to Waterfalls, was published in November 2011.

Alexandra Pierce reads, teaches, blogs, podcasts, cooks, knits, runs, eats, sleeps, and observes the stars. Not necessarily in that order of priority. She is a Christian, a feminist, and an Australian. She is the editor of Letters to Tiptree and Luminescent Threads: Connections to Octavia E Butler. She can be found at her website, and on the Hugo-winning Galactic Suburbia podcast.

Designed to recognise excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a published speculative fiction work, the Norma K Hemming Award is now open to entries of short fiction, novellas, novels, edited anthologies, collections, graphic novels and stage plays. Entry submissions may be digital or print for all submissions. Two prizes will be given, one for short fiction (up to 17,500 words) and one award for long work (novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and play scripts), with a cash prize and citation awarded.

Nominations are open to all eligible work
2016 and 2017

Nominations for the 2018 awards, covering all eligible work published in 2016 and 2017, are now open and will close on January 25, 2018. For more information and to stay up to date, please see the website or find us on Facebook and Twitter.

If you would like more details, please contact award administrator
Tehani Croft.