Winners of the 2019 Norma K Hemming Award


The 2019 Norma K Hemming Award for excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in speculative fiction published in 2018, was presented on Saturday 8 June, 2019 at a ceremony at the Continuum convention in Melbourne.

It is with great pleasure we announce there was a tie in the Long Work category, with Sam Hawke’s City of Lies and Mother of Invention edited by Rivqa Rafael and Tansy Rayner Roberts sharing the top honour. The Short Fiction category was won by Stephanie Gunn for “Pinion”, from the anthology Aurum.

Congratulations to the winners, finalists and all the entrants for creating such a strong field. Thank you to the Australian Science Fiction Foundation for their role in overseeing the Award, and to the jurors for their hard work, commitment and professionalism in delivering this year’s finalists and winners.



2019 Norma K Hemming Awards presentation


The 2019 Norma K Hemming Awards will be presented during the Continuum Awards ceremony on Saturday 8 June, 2019.

Continuum is Melbourne’s annual fan run speculative fiction and pop culture convention. In 2019 the convention will be held over the Queen’s Birthday Long Weekend in June at Jasper Hotel, 489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne.

The Awards ceremony will take place at 4pm on Saturday 8 June, in the Magrathea Room at the Jasper Hotel. All Continuum events are ticketed, and you must purchase a membership or event ticket to attend. Full weekend, day membership and individual event tickets are available.

To attend the Awards ceremony only (which also includes the annual Ditmar Awards, the Peter McNamara Award and Chandler Award presentations, in addition to the Norma) costs $20.00 per ticket.

View prices for Continuum 15 here.

Purchase your ticket here.

2019 Norma K Hemming Finalists Announcement


The Norma K Hemming Award, under the auspices of the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF), announces the 2019 finalists.

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF) is delighted to announce the 2019 shortlists for the Norma K Hemming Award, which covers works published in 2018. Designed to recognise excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a published speculative fiction work, the jury of the Norma K Hemming Award considered dozens of entries published in 2018 across the long and short form categories, comprised of short fiction, novellas, novels, edited anthologies, collections, graphic novels and stage plays.

The finalists for the Short Fiction (stories up to 17,500 words) are:

“Pinion”, Stephanie Gunn (Aurum, Ticonderoga Publications)
“Triquetra”, Kirstyn McDermott (
“The Sea-Maker of Darmid Bay”, Shauna O’Meara (Interzone, TTA Press)
“With this Needle I Thee Thread”, Angela Rega (Aurum, Ticonderoga Publications)
“Shatterglass”, Susan Wardle (Aurum, Ticonderoga Publications)
“Knitting Day “, Jen White (Mother of Invention, Twelfth Planet Press)

The finalists for the Long Work category are:

Icefall, Stephanie Gunn (Twelfth Planet Press)
City of Lies, Sam Hawke (Tor Books / Transworld)
Catching Teller Crow, Ambelin Kwaymullina & Ezekiel Kwaymullina (Allen & Unwin)
The Second Cure, Margaret Morgan (Penguin Random House)
Mother of Invention, Rivqa Rafael & Tansy Rayner Roberts (Twelfth Planet Press)

The Norma K Hemming Award winners will be presented at Continuum 15 in Melbourne on Saturday June 8, 2019. The venue is the Jasper Hotel. More information about Continuum can be found here.