New NKHA Administrator Appointed


The Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF) is pleased to announce the appointment of a new Administrator for the Norma K Hemming Award.

ASFF committee member Geoff Allshorn has accepted the position previously filled by founding Administrator Bill Wright, and, more recently, Tehani Croft. Geoff brings to the position some decades of involvement as a SF fan, fan writer, author and editor, and a past co-recipient of a Ditmar Award for activities relating to his founding of Spaced Out, Australia’s first LGBT science fiction club, which he feels demonstrates his activist support of diversity and inclusion.

Previous NKHA Administrators have left an important legacy which puts Australian speculative fiction at the forefront of ground-breaking literature. The ASFF is thankful especially for Tehani Croft’s work as NKHA administrator in recent years to solidify the Award as a part of the 21st century landscape.

The Norma K Hemming Award is given to mark excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a speculative fiction work (e.g. science fiction, fantasy, horror) by Australian citizens and/or residents. Eligible work includes short stories, novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and stage play scripts. The Award is given in two divisions: for short fiction (under 17,500 words) and long fiction (17,500 words or over).

ASFF President Juliette Cavendish said that the ASFF is proud to continue its tradition of supporting the Australian SF community, and that the Norma K Hemming Award is an example of the Foundation’s ongoing commitment to encouraging activism that is edgy, diverse, pluralist and inclusive. She feels that such advocacy is particularly important at this time, following the recent downturn of community activities during the era of COVID.

Further announcements regarding the future directions of the NKHA can be expected in forthcoming weeks.