2014 Award

N.A. Sulway wins the 2014 Norma K Hemming Award!
2014 Norma K Hemming Award presented at Continuum X

The 2014 Norma K Hemming Award for excellence in the exploration of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability in Australian speculative fiction has been won by N. A. Sulway for Rupetta (Tartarus Press (UK), November 2013).

The judges (writer and editor, Russell Blackford; editor, Sarah Endacott; writer, editor and publisher, Rob Gerrand; and writer, Tess Williams) arrived at a shortlist of six out of 29 entries. They had this to say about the winning novel:

“In Rupetta, N. A. Sulway tells a passionate story about history, truth , power, sexuality and love. From its opening pages, the novel is a joy to read – written with remarkable craft and authority. It is likely to become a classic of Australian speculative fiction, and it confirms that Sulway is a major talent.”

Honourable Mentions were awarded to Catherine Jinks for the novel A Very Unusual Pursuit: City of Orphans (Allen & Unwin) and to Kirstyn McDermott for the collection Caution: Contains Small Parts (Twelfth Planet Press). The judges commented:

A Very Unusual Pursuit: City of Orphans is a witty novel set in Dickens’s London with science under siege from mysterious events. Catherine Jinks draws the characters vividly and completely credibly, and she makes palpable 19th century London. A beautifully written, engrossing book.”

“Broken people and broken dolls, toys that come back and women who transfer pain. McDermott’s first collection explores the unfamiliar among the known, in worlds where nothing works quite right. Her insight into the individual condition draws readers down into dark places.”

Bill Wright – ASFF Awards Administrator (2014)

Norma K. Hemming Award 2014 Shortlist

The Short List, in alphabetical order, is:

Caution: Contains Small Parts collection by Kirstyn McDermott published by Twelfth Planet Press (Perth,
Dark Serpent novel by Kylie Chan published by HarperVoyager
Fairytales for Wilde Girls novel by Allyse Near published by Random House
Rupetta novel by N A Sulway published by Tartarus Press (UK)
Trucksong novel by Andrew Macrae published by Twelfth Planet Press (Perth, WA)
A Very Unusual Pursuit – City of Orphans novel by Catherine Jinks published by Allen & Unwin


Bill Wright – ASFF Awards Administrator (2014)