Previous Award Winners

  • 2010: Maria Quinn for The Gene Thieves
  • 2011: A. A. Bell for Diamond Eyes
  • 2012: A. A. Bell for Hindsight & Sara Douglass for The Devil’s Diadem
  • 2013: Margo Lanagan for Sea Hearts
  • 2014: N.A. Sulway for Rupetta
  • 2015: Paddy O’Reilly for The Wonders
  • 2016: Louise Katz, for The Orchid Nursery

No award was presented in 2017 (for work published in 2016). In 2017, the Award structure was changed and will now be presented every two years, considering two years of work (the presentation for 2018 will cover work published in 2016 and 2017).

2012 Shortlist

  • Black Glass by Meg Mundell (Scribe Publications)
  • Bluegrass Symphony by Lisa L Hannett (Ticonderoga Publications)
  • The Devil’s Diadem by Sara Douglass (HarperCollins)
  • Eona by Alison Goodman (HarperCollins)
  • Hindsight by A A Bell (HarperCollins)
  • Nightsiders by Sue Isle (Twelfth Planet Press)
  • Road To The Soul by Kim Falconer (HarperCollins)
  • The Shattered City by Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins)
  • Yellowcake Springs by Guy Salvidge (Interactive Publications)

2013 Shortlist

  • Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth (Random House Australia)
  • Sea Hearts by Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Outcast Chronicles (comprising the novels Besieged, Exile and Sanctuary) by Rowena Cory Daniells (Solaris)
  • Winter Be My Shield by Jo Spurrier (HarperVoyager)

2014 Shortlist

  • Caution: Contains Small Parts by Kirstyn McDermott (Twelfth Planet Press)
  • Dark Serpent by Kylie Chan (HarperVoyager)
  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls by Allyse Near (Random House)
  • Rupetta by N A Sulway (Tartarus Press)
  • Trucksong by Andrew Macrae (Twelfth Planet Press)
  • A Very Unusual Pursuit – City of Orphans by Catherine Jinks (Allen & Unwin)

2015 Shortlist

  • The Female Factory by Lisa L Hannett and Angela Slatter (Twelfth Planet Press)
  • Nil By Mouth by LynC (Satalyte Publishing)
  • North Star Guide Me Home by Jo Spurrier published by HarperVoyager
  • Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier (Allen & Unwin)
  • The Wonders by Paddy O’Reilly (Affirm Press)

2016 Shortlist

  • The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig (HarperVoyager)
  • Formaldehyde by Jane Rawson (Seizure)
  • The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner (Random House)
  • The Orchid Nursery by Louise Katz (Lacuna Publishing)
  • The Pyramids of London by Andrea K Höst (self-published)
  • Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief by Catherine Jinks (Allen &Unwin)
  • Welcome to Orphancorp by Marlee Jane Ward (Seizure).