About the Award

The Norma K Hemming Award is given to mark excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a speculative fiction work (e.g. science fiction, fantasy, horror) by Australian citizens and/or residents, and first published during the eligibility period, the calendar year preceding the year in which the award is given.

The Award is regarded as one of the prestigious awards given to Australian speculative fiction.

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF) presented the inaugural Norma K Hemming Award at Aussiecon 4, the 68th World Science Fiction Convention held in Melbourne on 2–6 September 2010. It was suggested by the Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation, which, in 2007, referred it to the ASFF for implementation. Bill Wright was administrator of the Award from 2010 to 2016. Tehani Croft was administrator of the Award from 2017-2020.

Information about the process for selecting and retaining jurors for the Norma K Hemming Award may be found here.