2020 Norma K Hemming Award winners

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation congratulates the 2020 winners of the Norma K Hemming Award.

The Norma K Hemming Award is given to mark excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a speculative fiction work (e.g. science fiction, fantasy, horror) by Australian citizens and/or residents. Eligible work includes short stories, novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and stage play scripts.

The work we celebrate today was published in 2019, and I would like to thank the creators and publishers for the amazing material we received for this year’s Award. That so many fantastic stories are being told in this space is heartening to see for the genre, and for the world we live in.

The winners of the 2020 Norma K Hemming Awards are:

Short Fiction (stories up to 17,500 words)

Winter’s Tale, Nike Sulway & Shauna O’Meara (Twelfth Planet Press)

Long Work (tie)

From Here On, Monsters, Elizabeth Bryer (Pan Macmillan Australia)

Ghost Bird, Lisa Fuller (University of Queensland Press)

Congratulations to all our winners!

View the online presentation of the Award here.