2018 Norma K Hemming Award Winners

The 2018 Norma K Hemming Award for excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in speculative fiction published in 2016 and 2017, was presented on Friday 8 June, 2018 at a ceremony in Melbourne.

It is with great pleasure we announce that Claire G Coleman won the Long Work category with her novel Terra Nullius (Hachette), while the Short Fiction category was won by Foz Meadows, for “Coral Bones”, from Monstrous Little Voices (Abaddon Books).

Congratulations to the winners, finalists and all the entrants for creating such a strong field. Thank you to the Australian Science Fiction Foundation for their role in overseeing the Award, and to the jury, Stephanie Gunn, Russell Kirkpatrick, Stephanie Lai and Alexandra Pierce, for their hard work, commitment and professionalism in delivering this year’s finalists and winners.

The 2019 Norma K Hemming Award will open to entries later this year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s