2018 Norma K Hemming Finalists Announcement


The Norma K Hemming Award, under the auspices of the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF), announces the 2018 finalists.

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF) is delighted to announce the 2018 shortlists for the Norma K Hemming Award, which covers works published in 2016-2017. Designed to recognise excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a published speculative fiction work, the jury of the Norma K Hemming Award considered 130 entries published in 2016 and 2017 across the long and short form categories, comprised of short fiction, novellas, novels, edited anthologies, collections, graphic novels and stage plays.

“As we grow the newly re-imagined Norma K Hemming Award, I see the Award allowing Australian specfic creators to recognise that as a community, our intersectional skills are lacking and we have so much potential to grow,” judge Stephanie Lai noted.

“Whittling down the short-list of nominees was a pleasant but difficult challenge – with two years to encompass, the field was strong and the conversation between the judges fierce.”

The 2018 jury, comprised of Stephanie Gunn, Russell Kirkpatrick, Stephanie Lai and Alexandra Pierce, spent several months reading and discussing the entries against the Award criteria, and are pleased to present the following shortlists.

The finalists for the Short Fiction (stories up to 17,500 words) are:

“Induction”, Thoraiya Dyer (Bridging Infinity, Solaris)

“The Rock in the Water”, Thoraiya Dyer (People of Colo(u)r Destroy Fantasy!, Fantasy Magazine)

“Braid”, Kirstyn McDermott (Review of Australian Fiction Volume 24, Issue 1)

“Coral Bones”, Foz Meadows (Monstrous Little Voices, Abaddon Books)

“Tea Party”, Lauren E Mitchell (Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press)

“Memories of Fish”, Shauna O’Meara (Interzone 270, TTA Press)

“Two Somebodies Go Hunting”, Rivqa Rafael, (Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press)

“Did We Break the End of the World”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press)

The finalists for the Long Work category are:

The Barrier, Shankari Chandran, Pan Macmillan Australia

Terra Nullius, Claire G Coleman, Hachette

Crossroads of Canopy, Thoraiya Dyer, Tor Books

Defying Doomsday, Tsana Dolichva and Holly Kench (Eds.), Twelfth Planet Press

An Uncertain Grace, Krissy Kneen, Text Publishing

Portable Curiosities, Julie Koh, University of Queensland Press

How to Bee, Bren MacDibble, Allen & Unwin

An Accident of Stars, Foz Meadows, Angry Robot Books

The Grief Hole, Kaaron Warren, IFWG Publishing Australia

The winners of the 2018 Norma K Hemming Award will be announced at a ceremony taking place on the evening of Friday 8 June, 2018, at Continuum in Melbourne, with citations and a monetary prize being presented.

If you would like more details, please contact award administrator
Tehani Croft at nkh-award@asff.org.au.  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s