2018 Norma K Hemming Award Jury Announced

The Norma K Hemming Award, under the auspices of the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF), announces the 2018 jury.

The Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF) is pleased to endorse the 2018 jury (judging works published in 2016-2017) for the Norma K Hemming Award. With a significant restructure taking place this year, applications for the panel were invited by a public expression of interest process. ASFF would like to acknowledge and thank the previous jurors of the award for their time and expertise during the first seven years of operation of the Norma K Hemming Award.

The members of the Norma K Hemming Award jury for 2018 are as follows:

Stephanie Gunn is a Ditmar and Aurealis award nominated author of speculative fiction. In another life, she was trained as a scientist, but the development of chronic illness forced her to choose another path, and she now focuses her energy on writing and reviewing. She has served as both judge and panel convenor for the Aurealis Awards over a variety of categories, and has previously judged the Australian Shadows Awards. She lives in Perth with her family and far too many books, and can be found online at www.stephaniegunn.com.

Stephanie Lai has an extensive knowledge of and interest in speculative fiction. She has been a wide reader of speculative fiction, with specific interest in speculative fiction written by non-white authors, and authors from non-western cultural backgrounds. This reading has been done both within and without Australia. She has in particular read extensively across Australian, South-East Asian, and South Asian speculative fiction, including writers from the diaspora.

Russell Kirkpatrick is originally from New Zealand but now lives in Canberra, Australia. He has written two fantasy trilogies, published by HarperCollins in Australasia and Orbit in the UK and US markets, and is a three-time Julius Vogel award winner. His debut novel, Across The Face Of The World, was the biggest-selling debut fantasy novel in the USA in 2008. Until 2014 he was a part-time lecturer in Geography at the University of Waikato and has had a number of non-fiction titles published, including the New Zealand Historical Atlas (winner of the Montana People’s Choice award in 1998) and Contemporary Atlas New Zealand (Montana awards finalist). His latest non-fiction project, Walks to Waterfalls, was published in November 2011.

Alexandra Pierce reads, teaches, blogs, podcasts, cooks, knits, runs, eats, sleeps, and observes the stars. Not necessarily in that order of priority. She is a Christian, a feminist, and an Australian. She is the editor of Letters to Tiptree and Luminescent Threads: Connections to Octavia E Butler. She can be found at her website, and on the Hugo-winning Galactic Suburbia podcast.

Designed to recognise excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a published speculative fiction work, the Norma K Hemming Award is now open to entries of short fiction, novellas, novels, edited anthologies, collections, graphic novels and stage plays. Entry submissions may be digital or print for all submissions. Two prizes will be given, one for short fiction (up to 17,500 words) and one award for long work (novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and play scripts), with a cash prize and citation awarded.

Nominations are open to all eligible work
2016 and 2017

Nominations for the 2018 awards, covering all eligible work published in 2016 and 2017, are now open and will close on January 25, 2018. For more information and to stay up to date, please see the website or find us on Facebook and Twitter.

If you would like more details, please contact award administrator
Tehani Croft.  


Norma K Hemming Award – open call for 2016-2017 jury

The Norma K Hemming Award, under the auspices of the Australian Science Fiction Foundation, is seeking suitably qualified jurors to fill the judging panel for the 2016-2017 Award.

Please consider the position description below and submit an expression of interest in becoming a juror by email to the Award Administrator by COB Friday December 15, 2017. Be aware that no juror may enter their own work for consideration in the Awards for the duration of their tenure.

Please include a subject line “EOI: NKH Judging Panel”, and the following details in the body of the email:

  • Name
  • Postal address
  • Preferred email address (must be able to use to access Google docs and spreadsheets)
  • Telephone number
  • Short statement outlining experience and skills relevant to the role.

Australian Science Fiction Foundation Position Description

Position: Norma K Hemming Award Judging Panel
Reports to: Norma K Hemming Award Administrator

A panel of eminent individuals in the Australian speculative fiction field will be convened to judge the entries to the NKH Award.

The NKH Award Administrator will administer the Award on behalf of the ASFF Committee.

There will be two categories: One award for short fiction (up to 17,500 words) and one award for long work (novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and play scripts).

Term of the Judging Panel/s

  1. Judges will be appointed for two years with no judge to serve more than four years However, if no suitable candidates come forward, then the outgoing judge may serve another term of two years.
  2. The Administrator will oversee the recruitment of suitable Appointments to the Judging Panel will be reported to the ASFF Committee via the Committee Liaison.
  3. It is vital that judges be able to work as part of a team and meet stringent deadlines. Most of the judges’ discussions will be conducted via an online forum or email.
  4. The Administrator is an Executive Member of the Judging Panel. All discussions will be confidential between the Judges and the Award Administrator as required. The Administrator will have no input into these decisions unless a panel of judges is unable to reach a consensus.


The NKH Award Judging Panel is required to:

  • Read the annual award competition entries submitted according to the current Award Rules.
  • Apply the current Rules to determine a judgement/rating of the entry/ies and record these as per the designated procedure for doing so.
  • Liaise with other panel members regarding the entries in order to determine a winner in each category.
  • Notify the Administrator of final decisions via the designated procedure.
  • Panel sizes may vary between the two categories – and from year to year – depending on the perceived workload required and the availability of judges for a particular category. The Administrator will determine if more than one panel should be convened.
  • Most entries will be in a digital form; however, there may be some entries submitted as hard copy.
  • With the other members of the judging team, contribute to and prepare a panel report.
  • Any other duties which may be required.


  • Have a demonstrated knowledge of and interest in the speculative fiction field.
  • Ability to meet designated deadlines.
  • Ability to work remotely/distance. Must have regular, reliable access to the internet and a personal computer/appropriate device.
  • Access to tools that enable reading of digital book formats, eg. Kindle or iBooks.
  • Must reside in Australia.

ASFF 26 November 2017