Announcing the Norma K Hemming Award restructure

Significant changes for the Norma K Hemming Award

The Norma K Hemming Award, under the auspices of the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF), announces significant changes to the Award structure.

Designed to recognise excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability in a published speculative fiction work, the Norma K Hemming Award, which has been running since 2010, has had a major overhaul this year, with new categories and a two year cycle.

The award is now open to short fiction and edited anthologies, alongside the previous eligible work of novellas, novels, collections, graphic novels and stage plays. It will also make allowances for serialised work. In addition, entry submissions may be digital or print for all submissions.

Two prizes will now be given, one for short fiction (up to 17,500 words) and one award for long work (novellas, novels, collections, anthologies, graphic novels and play scripts), with a cash prize and citation awarded.

For the first cycle, nominations will be open to all eligible work from 2016 and 2017.

“We are very excited to relaunch the Norma K Hemming Award this year with some changes we hope will revitalise this prestigious award,” said newly appointed award administrator Tehani Croft. “The ASFF is committed to recognising the wealth of talent among Australian speculative fiction creators, and to identify, promote and support those who are writing material of importance in exploring race, gender, sexuality, class or disability. It is important to us that every person has the opportunity to see themselves reflected in fiction, and we hope that the Norma can have some part to play in making works dealing in this field visible.”

Nominations for the 2018 awards, covering all eligible work published in 2016 and 2017, will open in early November. For more information and to stay up to date, please see the new Award website at or find us on Facebook and Twitter

If you would like more details about the changes or eligibility period, please contact award administrator Tehani Croft at